top of page

Denise Pritchard, a passionate local who supports vulnerable women and children has been crowned Camden’s Citizen of the Year.

Ms Pritchard, who was given the award at the Australia Day Citizenship and Awards Ceremony at Camden Civic Centre, has been a member of the Camden/Wollondilly Domestic Violence Committee for more than 10 years.  She was also heavily involved in setting up Blue Wren House – Camden Women’s Shelter, where she is a board member.

Taking out Young Citizen of the Year was Brydie Meredith an inspiring teacher at Catherine Park Physie and Dance.

Beverley Batros and Garry Clarke both took home the Sports Achievement Award.

Ms Batros has been a member of the netball club, Benkennie, since its inception in 1984.

Mr Clarke is a member of the Eventing Equestriad Committee, where he volunteers countless hours of his time.

The Camden West Rural Fire Station won the Community Group Award.

Artist Patricia Johnson won the Arts and Cultural Award.

“Shining a spotlight on these fantastic people in the Camden community is our absolute pleasure,” Mayor of Camden, councillor Ashleigh Cagney, said.

“Camden is the amazing place it is because of their tireless efforts and I’d like to thank all of the winners, and indeed everyone who was nominated, for the contributions they make to our area.”


Pictured (left to right) Young Citizen of the Year, Brydie Meredith; Mayor of Camden, Cr Ashleigh Cagney; and Citizen of the Year, Denise Pritchard.

Standout individuals of all ages as well as a few groups were recognised for their community, environmental and sporting endeavours at this year’s Wollondilly’s Australia Day Awards. The award’s ceremony is a focal point of the traditional celebrations held in the Picton Botanic Gardens.

The mayor, Matt Gould, deputy mayor, Matt Deeth along with Wollondilly’s Australia Ambassador artist, Yianni Johns, were on hand to present the awards to the various winners.

The 2024 Wollondilly Citizen of the Year was bestowed upon Rosemary MacAllister (wearing pink shirt) - a lifelong resident of the shire who has contributed to the community through the Wollondilly Pony Club and 35 years of service to Wollondilly Riding for the Disabled (RDA).

“I would like to congratulate and thank all this year’s nominees and winners for all the amazing work they do in our communities across the shire,” Wollondilly mayor Matt Gould said.

“In particular, I would like to congratulate Wollondilly’s Citizen of the Year, Rosemary MacAllister for her amazing contribution as a volunteer not only in 2024, but throughout 35 years of service to Tahmoor Riding for the Disabled.

“As the RDA Coach in Tahmoor, Rosemary manages riders with diverse disabilities, including Down Syndrome, stroke victims, limited vision, and autism spectrum disorders.

“Rosemary's lifelong passion for horses and equestrian activities, including international experience in Germany, is reflected in her coaching and mentoring efforts. She guides and supports aspiring coaches, exemplifying her dedication to ongoing learning.”

Ms MacAllister was both surprised and honoured to have received the award.

“I hope it makes people more aware of volunteering; we need help in volunteering,” she said.

Other category winners for 2024 included:

Disability Inclusion Award – Jacqueline Lockyer

Local Hero, Community Group – Picton High School Mentoring Group

Local Hero, Individual – William Beattie

Senior Sportsperson of the Year – Jessica Conje

Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Heidi Lewschenko

Achiever of the Year – Lyn Davey

Environmental Citizen of the Year – Michelle Maroun

Senior Citizen of the Year – John Bicknell

Young Citizen of the Year – Rheya Mason

Dr Stuart John Quarmby, founding headmaster of Wollondilly Anglican School, has been awarded an Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for his service to primary and secondary education.

Dr Quarmby was the headmaster at Wollondilly Anglican  from 2004-2020 and held other position in his career, including Deputy Headmaster, Director of Pastoral Care, and Head of Science, Broughton Anglican College, 1991-2003 and high school teacher with the New South Wales Department of Education, 1981-1990.

In 2021 he received the Wollondilly Australia Day Local Hero Award, 2021.

bottom of page